When was the fish tank invented?

Although French-born naturalist Jeanne Villepreux-Power invented the first recognizable glass aquarium in 1832, it was in the works of British naturalist Philip Gosse, however, that the term first took on its modern meaning as a vessel in which aquatic animals, as well as plants, can be held.