Who played steve mcgarrett in the original hawaii five o.?

Jack Lord starred in Hawaii Five-O for its 12 seasons (1968 to 1980) as Detective Stephen McGarrett, appointed by the Governor to head the (fictional) State Police criminal investigation department in Honolulu, Hawaii.