Why do they call los angeles the city of angels?

Officially settled in 1781, the original name of what is now Los Angeles was El Pueblo de la Reina de Los Angeles, or "The Town of the Queen of Angels" in Spanish. The pueblo eventually became a ciudad, or city, which made Los Angeles the City of Angels