How fast can a cicada fly?

Cicadas are considered clumsy fliers. Locusts are more nimble fliers than cicadas. Swarms of locusts can travel up to 130 kilometers (80 miles) a day! Compared to the cicada, locust wings have almost no chitin. That makes locust wings much lighter weight.