What is the function of a gizzard?

The gizzard, in many birds, is the hind part of the stomach that is modified for grinding food. Located between the saclike crop and the intestine, the gizzard has a thick muscular wall and may contain small stones, or gastroliths, that function in the mechanical breakdown of seeds and other foods.