How is pasta sauce made?

Pasta sauce is usually a tomato based sauce. You can use a variety of fresh or canned tomatoes, and add things like garlic, onions, different herbs and spices, some people add parmesan cheese, or basil, and simmer on the stove top until cooked, thick and flavorful.