Is jimmy buffett a country singer?

Jimmy Buffet started as a country singer in Nashville in the last 1960's. However as he moved along, he acquired more of his unique style which is sometimes referred to as "tropical rock" or "Gulf and Western," described as a mix of Caribbean, pop, folk, country, and rock.