Is big brother real?

Big Brother is a fictional character and symbol in George Orwell's dystopian 1949 novel Nineteen Eighty-Four. If you are asking about the TV show named after this character, it has real people, but most of what goes on is fake because the people are competing for prizes & doing whatever will win.