What is an egyptian viper?

Asp, anglicized form of aspis, name used in classical antiquity for a venomous snake,probably the Egyptian cobra, Naja haje. It was the symbol of royalty in Egypt, and its bite was used for the execution of favoured criminals in Greco-Roman times. Cleopatra is said to have killed herself with an asp