Who discovered the earth was round?

It is believed that Pythagoras discovered it was round in the 5th century B. C.

---

The first person to propose that the Earth was round was Pythagoras, some time around 500BC. Some time during the next few decades, Anaxagoras gave proof, in the form of the Earth's shadow on the moon during a lunar eclipse.