When was the porta-potty invented?

The shipyards of Long Beach in the 1940s realized that employees were losing valuable work time because they had to trek all the way back to the docks to use restroom facilities. They built a wooden cabana, fitted it with a small holding tank, and the first portable toilet made its début.