Does champagne get old?

Unfortunately, Champagne does eventually go bad even if you have kept it unopened in the refrigerator (or in a cool and dry place), but it will take a number of years before that happens. For Vintage Champagnes, you will generally have around 5-10 years before it starts to lose its fizz.