When did great britain colonize india?

The British landed on Indian Subcontinent at the port of Surat, August 24, 1608 AD for the purpose of trade, but after 7 years British got Royal order (i.e. Farman) to establish a factory at Surat under the leadership of Sir Thomas Roe (Ambassador of James I).