What's a blast furnace in minecraft?

A blast furnace is used to smelt items in the game, similar to a furnace. However, a blast furnace smelts twice as fast as a furnace! A blast furnace can be found in a Village in the Armorer's house. You can also craft one using one furance, three smooth stones, and five iron ingots.