How do you know when your cantaloupe is ripe?

With cantaloupe, color is your first sign of ripeness. The melon's green rind will take on a creamy yellowish color. If the color is right, gently push on the end of the melon opposite from the stem. If there is a slight give, the melon is probably ripe.