What's the hottest temperature ever recorded in the world?

According to the World Meteorological Organization , the highest temperature ever recorded was 56.7 °C (134.1 °F) on 10 July 1913 in Furnace Creek, California, United States, but the validity of this record is challenged as possible problems with the reading have since been discovered.