What's licorice made out of?

A major brand of red licorice, is made from, corn syrup, wheat flour, sugar, cornstarch, and in smaller amounts, palm oil, salt, artificial flavor, glycerin, citric acid, potassium sorbate, Red 40, and soy lecithin.