How many cups in one and a half pounds?

A cup is a measure of volume, while a pound is a measure of weight. How many cups are in one and a half pounds depends on the substance being weighed (for example, 1 1/2 pounds of marshmallows will fill about 14 1/2 cups, while 1 1/2 pounds of sugar will fill 5 5/8 cups).