Is amethyst a geode?

Yes. Amethyst is found in a variety of geologic settings but most commonly as crystals lining cavities or voids in volcanic rock, forming geodes

---

Yes. Brazil and Uruguay are well known for amethyst geodes. In southern Brazil in an area called Rio Grande do Sul are huge flood basalt lava beds. They were formed when South America split from Africa about 160 million years ago. Some of the world's most spectacular amethyst geodes are found there