Why are footballs called pigs skins?

Footballs were made of inflated pig bladders. This is why footballs got the nickname “pigskins." ... So when rubber was invented in the mid-1800s, pig bladders took a back seat to inflated rubber balls. Eventually, leather coverings were added to strengthen the balls and make them easier to handle.