Why do bears attack humans?

Bears attack humans because of: fear & territory. If you startle a bear, it's going to attack in self defense. And if you stray into its hunting territory it may attack to drive you away from competing with it because it sees you as another predator. And if you threaten a cub, Mama Bear will attack.