Why is a french braid called a french braid?

The French braid is a hairstyle that originated in North Africa and later adopted in France. The misnomer "French" may possibly be traced back to an 1871 short story from Arthur's Home Magazine. A fiction story had a line that read "...do up your hair in that new French braid."

---

It's mentioned in an old magazine but the real inventor is not known. It is believed that an 18th century French hair stylist invented the French braid.