Why is a french braid called a french braid?

The French braid is a hairstyle that originated in North Africa and later adopted in France. The misnomer "French" may possibly be traced back to an 1871 short story from Arthur's Home Magazine. A fiction story had a line that read "...do up your hair in that new French braid."