Why is pudding called pudding?

The etymology of the word "pudding" meaning a food boiled in a bag had emerged by 1670, from extension to other foods boiled or steamed in a bag or sack. Other languages have similar terms: German pudding, French pouding, Swedish pudding, & Irish putog.