When was the first yo-yo invented?

Versions of the yo-yo are said to have originated in ancient Greece or even earlier in China, but the first yo-yo craze seized Americans in the mid 19th century when several manufacturers patented improvements to it. By the 20th century, Scientific American published directions for making yo-yos.