What is the meaning of homo sapiens?

"Homo sapiens" is Latin for "wise man", and was applied in 1758 by Carolus Linnaeus, who, concerned exclusively with similarities in bodily structure, faced only the problem of distinguishing H. sapiens from apes, which differ from humans in numerous bodily as well as cognitive features.