Why do ants like sugar?

Ants are attracted to sweet things because the sugar in sweets provides them with a great deal of energy. Sugar is a carbohydrate made of fructose and glucose. The ants are able to break down the sugar molecules into glucose and fructose quickly, providing the ants with a burst of energy.