What is the mad hatter about?

The Hatter is a fictional character in Lewis Carroll's 1865 book Alice's in Wonderland and its 1871 sequel Through the Looking-Glass. He is very often referred to as the Mad Hatter, though this term never used by Carroll. The phrase “mad as a hatter” pre-dates Carroll's works.