How long can alligators breathe underwater?

Alligators cannot breathe underwater, but they can hold their breath for a very long time. A typical dive might last 10-20 minutes. In a pinch an alligator can stay submerged for up to two hours if it is at rest. And, in very cold water, an alligator can last up to eight hours submerged.