What is an alpha character?

Alpha character is short for "alphanumeric character", meaning a letter or number.

---

What's an alpha character? Alpha characters are Alphanumeric characters: the numbers 0-9 and letters A-Z (uppercase and lowercase). An alphanumeric example are the characters a, H, 0, 5 and k. These characters are contrasted to non-alphanumeric ones, which are anything other than letters and numbers