What is the difference between a hotel and a motel?

Hotels and motels differ in layout and construction. Hotels can contain hundreds of rooms and several floors; elevators and internal corridors that lead to the rooms. Motels commonly have a one or two floor layout and guests access their rooms directly from the parking lot.