What is the difference between a hotel and a motel?

Generally, motels have the entrances on the outside of the building. You can drive your car up, and park outside your room door. Hotels have a lobby. Your room will be inside a large building.

---

Motels are just more inexpensive places to just sleep while traveling, where hotels offer more things like gyms, breakfasts, pools. You can remember by thinking "MO"tel as in the motor as you drive by, and "HO"tel as more like a home.

---

The word MOTEL comes from a combination of Motor and Hotel, meaning a place where you could drive up to your room. There is not that much difference between them these days, but the cheaper the room rate, the fewer amenities there will be in both types of establishment.

---

A motel is a hotel that is designed with motorists in mind. In particular, they are located close to major autoroutes and have ample parking for guests. The name "motel" is a portmanteau of the words "motor" and "hotel".