Is the yellow power ranger a girl?

YES. Thuy Trang ( December 14, 1973 – September 3, 2001) was a Vietnamese American actress. She was best known for her role as Trini Kwan, the first Yellow Ranger on the original cast of the television series Mighty Morphin Power Rangers.