How do you tell if a goldfish is a female or a male?

A female goldfish, looks rounder,thicker body shape. Females may also have a bulge on one side as breeding season approaches, and their vent, or anal opening, may protrude slightly. Male goldfish often have a thinner, more streamlined body shape than females, with a concave vent and a midline ridge.