When do most babies say their first words?

After 9 months, babies can understand a few basic words like "no" and "bye-bye." They also may begin to use a wider range of consonant sounds and tones of voice. Baby talk at 12-18 months. Most babies say a few simple words like "mama" and "dadda" by the end of 12 months.