Does an armadillo have scales?

In armadillos, the scales are also formed of keratin, but here it is much more compact and solid, rather as it is when it forms human fingernails and toenails. But this isn't the full extent of the armour. Underneath, in the dermis, are solid pieces of bone called osteoderms.