How do you tell if a cantaloupe is ripe?

2 Answers. Cantaloupe should feel heavier than it looks and smell musky and sweet. Also you should be able to press your thumb in slightly on the bottom and there shouldn't be a lip around the stem. the smell of the melon, peaches, etc. will tell you if they are ripe