How much fiber should a person eat everyday?

The American Heart Association suggests eating a variety of food fiber sources. Total dietary fiber intake should be 25 to 30 grams a day from food, not supplements. Currently, dietary fiber intake among adults in the United States averages about 15 grams a day, about half the recommended amount.