What is the nature of alcohol?

Alcohol is a chain molecule found in the table of organic compounds. Alcohols get progressively heavier starting with ether alcohol and going up. Ethyl alcohol is drinkable. All the other alcohols are poison. Industrially alcohols are used as a solvent or a carrier fluid.