What is poor?

"Poor" is a descriptive term that indicates low amounts of something. "Iron-poor" ores do not have much iron to be extracted. Someone of "poor character" has been deemed untrustworthy. "Poor-quality" goods are not made well. A "poor person" has little material wealth.