Where did five guys originate?

The first Five Guys restaurant opened in 1986 in Arlington County, Virginia, and by 2001, the chain had expanded to five locations throughout the Washington, D.C. metro area. In early 2003, the chain began franchising, beginning a period of rapid expansion.