How does a cow's stomach work?

Cows have 4 stomachs. The coarse vegetation they eat is only chewed enough to swallow and sent to the first and second stomachs. When done eating, the cow will rest and regurgitate the slightly-chewed food so it can be chewed completely and sent to the 3rd and 4th stomachs to finish digestion.