What's the cherry blossom fest?

The nation of Japan has donated ornamental cherry trees to countries all over the world. A cherry blossom festival, also called Sakura Matsuri, is a spring festival that celebrates the natural beauty of cherry trees, along with Japanese food, culture, and history.

---

The National Cherry Blossom Festival is a spring celebration in Washington, D.C., commemorating the March 27, 1912, gift of Japanese cherry trees from Mayor Yukio Ozaki of Tokyo City to the city of Washington, D.C.