Can i mix flour and bread crumbs?

An easy recipe to make your own breading mixture to use when frying chicken or as part of meatloaf requires mixing dry ingredients such as flour and breadcrumbs together first. Then add one medium egg, one tablespoon of milk and salt and pepper to taste.