What is black strap molasses?

Black strap molasses is a natural byproduct of the sugarcane production process. Blackstrap molasses is derived from the boiling process. It results from the third boiling, is bitter and is naturally rich in antioxidants, iron, calcium, magnesium, potassium, phosphorus, and vitamin B6.