What's the difference between eggs and eggs with baby chicks inside?

Hens do not need a rooster to lay an egg. They do so (almost daily) on their own. However, if a rooster does mate with a hen, the eggs she produces are fertilized and, only if incubated under the right conditions, will the embryo develop into a chick.