What is the civil rights act of nineteen sixty five?

The Voting Rights Act of 1965 is a landmark piece of federal legislation in the United States. It prohibits racial discrimination in voting and was signed into law by President Lyndon B. Johnson during the height of the civil rights movement on August 6, 1965.