Who is edgar bergen?

Edgar Bergen was an American actor, vaudevillian and radio performer most popular in the 1930s through the 1950s. He is best known for his ventriloquism with characters Charlie Mc Carthy and Mortimer Snerd. He was also the father of model and actress Candice Bergen.