How do you know if honey is gone bad?

If your honey looks opaque or is more solid than liquid, chances are it has crystallized but that doesn't mean it's gone bad. The National Honey Board recommends placing the honey jar in warm water and stirring until the crystals dissolve. Honey really doesn't go bad if stored properly.