How long does it take to microwave butternut squash?

Softening a butternut squash in the microwave is the fastest, and often easiest, method. Place the squash on a microwave-safe plate and cook it on high for 3 to 5 minutes to par-cook, or up to 10 minutes to fully cook. Turn the squash over (using a cloth or oven glove) once or twice during this time