Why does the sky turn different colors?

Very generally, the breaking up of the light beam colors, known as diffraction, entering the earths atmosphere at different angles causes the different colors in the sky. The higher the angle above the horizon, the more blue you see, the lower the angle, reds, oranges, & yellows are visible