What does filibustering mean?

Filibustering means acting in an obstructive manner in a legislature, especially by speaking at inordinate length. Filibustering is used to delay or stop a legislative body from accomplishing their purpose. Example: "a single obstinate senator could hold up legislation endlessly by filibustering"